March 16, 2017 SODRAC, the first collective reproduction rights management organization to distribute royalties for musical works on YouTube in Canada! As announced earlier in 2016, SODRAC directly en

March 16, 2017

 

SODRAC, the first collective reproduction rights management organization to distribute royalties for musical works on YouTube in Canada!

As announced earlier in 2016, SODRAC directly entered into an agreement with YouTube for the use of the works in its repertoire in various services offered by the latter. We are pleased to announce the first distribution of these rights in Canada to our members, covering the months of December 2016 and January 2017, in our March 2017 allocation.

Read more

_____

 

Broadcast Reproduction Fees: SODRAC vs SRC / CBC

On June 20, SODRAC returns to the Copyright Board of Canada, as ordered by the Supreme Court of Canada in November 2015, to review the value of broadcast reproduction royalties payable by the CBC since November 2008, taking into account the principle of technological neutrality.

Read more

 

 

Visual arts and crafts: the year of the resale right?

The resale right, which consists of a royalty paid to creators of visual arts and crafts when their works are resold through art market professionals, exists in more than 80 countries in the world, according to figures from the International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers (CISAC), of which SODRAC is a member.

Read more

_____

 

From HMV to DEP : the impact on your revenues

We were all bracing for the impact that would be caused by HMV’s announcement that it was put into receivership in january, resulting in the closure of its 100 stores across the country. This week, we learned that DEP, one of the two major Quebec distributors, filed for bankruptcy after 20 years of service.


SODRAC pays particular attention to this issue. We know that producers are reorganizing themselves and evaluating alternatives for the continuation of things. The information from the trustee in bankruptcy has just been made public. We assure you that we are following this matter in the best interest of all our author and publisher members.

_____

 

 

Be a part of SODRAC's next Board of Directors

The issue of copyright in the digital age is of interest or concern to you?

You wish to participate actively in the development of your profession?

You would like to keep up with the strategic issues of your industry?

The deadline for submission is March 31st!

 

More info

_____

Le 16 mars 2017 La SODRAC, première société de gestion collective en droit de reproduction à répartir les redevances des œuvres musicales sur YouTube au Canada ! Tel qu’annoncé plus tôt en 2016, la SO

Le 16 mars 2017

 

La SODRAC, première société de gestion collective en droit de reproduction à répartir les redevances des œuvres musicales sur YouTube au Canada !

Tel qu’annoncé plus tôt en 2016, la SODRAC a conclu directement une entente avec YouTube pour l’utilisation des œuvres de son répertoire à l’intérieur de différents services offerts par ce dernier. Nous sommes heureux d’annoncer la première répartition de ces droits au Canada à nos membres, qui couvrent les mois de décembre 2016 et de janvier 2017, dans notre répartition de mars 2017.

Lire la suite

_____

 

Redevances de reproduction de diffusion : SODRAC vs SRC/CBC

Le 20 juin prochain, la SODRAC retourne à la Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada, tel qu’ordonné par la Cour suprême du Canada en novembre 2015, afin de faire réexaminer la fixation des redevances de reproduction de diffusion payable par le réseau national public SRC/CBC depuis novembre 2008 en tenant compte notamment du principe de neutralité technologique.

Lire la suite

 

 

Arts visuels et métiers d’art: l’année du droit de suite?

Le droit de suite, qui consiste en une redevance versée aux créateurs des arts visuels et des métiers d’art lorsque leurs œuvres sont revendues par l’intermédiaire de professionnels du marché de l’art, existe dans plus de 80 pays dans le monde, selon les chiffres de la Confédération internationale des sociétés d'auteurs et compositeurs (CISAC), dont la SODRAC est membre.

Lire la suite

_____

 

De HMV à DEP : l'impact sur vos redevances

Nous attendions tous l’impact qui serait causé par la mise sous séquestre en janvier dernier de la chaîne de détaillants de musique HMV, qui entraînera la fermeture de sa centaine de magasins au pays. Cette semaine, nous avons appris que DEP, l’un des deux distributeurs québécois d’importance, se retrouve en faillite après 20 ans d'existence.

La SODRAC porte une attention particulière à ce dossier. Nous savons que les producteurs sont à se réorganiser et à évaluer les alternatives pour la suite des choses. Les informations en provenance du syndic de faillite viennent d’être rendues publiques. Nous vous assurons que nous suivons ce dossier dans le meilleur intérêt de tous nos membres auteurs et éditeurs.

_____

 

 

Faites partie du prochain Conseil d’administration de la SODRAC

La question du droit d’auteur à l’ère du numérique vous intéresse ou vous préoccupe?

Vous voulez participer activement au développement de votre profession?

Vous aimeriez suivre de près les dossiers stratégiques de votre industrie?

Vous avez jusqu'au 31 mars pour poser votre candidature!

 

En savoir plus

_____