Members Space
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Authors, Composers And Publishers > Visual arts and crafts > Your royalties
JAVASCRIPT IS NOT ACTIVE ! For more information click here.
Visual arts and crafts
Skip Navigation Links
Membership benefits
How to join
Your royalties
Membership directory
FAQ
Shortcuts
Skip Navigation Links
Membership directory - Musical works
Repertoire of musical works
Membership directory - Artworks
Downloadable documents


Royalties collected for the use of your works

SODRAC's management services primarily consist of authorizing and licensing the use of your works under the Copyright Act, e.g. when they are reproduced (in print or digital formats), presented at a public exhibition, for a purpose other than sale or hire (for works created after June 7, 1988) and communicate to the public (e.g. broadcasted on television, in a movie or displayed on a website).

SODRAC issues licenses to users domiciled in Canada in exchange for royalties it collects on its members’ behalf. The fees collected by SODRAC are based on its schedule of fees and determined by the parameters of the uses: size of reproduction, number of copies, retail price, period of use, etc. When requests to use works originate from outside Canada, they are referred to one or the other of the 35 sister societies with which SODRAC has reciprocal representation agreements. If a request comes from a country that is not covered by our agreements, SODRAC processes the request directly.

Reprographic royalties

A second type of remuneration exists for the reproduction of your work in print in books, exhibition catalogues, magazines and newspapers. Indeed, in addition to royalties SODRAC collects when a license is issued, you may be eligible to receive royalties for the subsequent photocopy of your works (paintings, sculptures, illustrations, photographs, etc.) reproduced in such printed publications.

In Quebec, COPIBEC manages royalties for photocopying printed publications. It enters into agreements with various users who regularly photocopy publications (e.g. educational institutions). SODRAC members who reside in Canada, outside Quebec, may also benefit from royalty distributions by Access Copyright who manages royalties for photocopying printed publications in the other provinces.

When these organizations are preparing a distribution of royalties, SODRAC forwards to them the list of eligible publications of its members and then collects on their behalf the royalties they are entitled to.

Quarterly royalty payments

Royalties are paid to SODRAC members quarterly, by cheque or by direct deposit, on 15 March, 15 June, 15 September and 15 December of each year. SODRAC members receive a payment if they accumulated at least $50 in royalties in the preceding quarter.

If you have any questions on your royalties, please contact our Visual Arts & Crafts Department by email at arts@sodrac.ca or by phone at (514) 845-3268, ext 248.

  
© 2012 SODRAC. Copyright. / Conditions of use

Espace membres
Skip Navigation LinksAccueil > Auteurs, compositeurs ou éditeurs > Arts visuels et métiers d'art > Vos redevances
VOTRE JAVASCRIPT N'EST PAS ACTIVÉ ! Pour en savoir d'avantage cliquez ici.
Arts visuels et métiers d'art
Skip Navigation Links
Pourquoi devenir membre?
Comment adhérer
Répertoire des membres
Vos redevances
FAQ
raccourcis
Skip Navigation Links
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres artistiques
Documents à télécharger


Les redevances perçues en contrepartie des utilisations de vos œuvres

Les services de gestion des droit d’auteur de la SODRAC consistent essentiellement à autoriser au moyen d’une licence les différentes utilisations de vos œuvres prévues par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur : la reproduction (que ce soit sous forme imprimée ou numérique), l’exposition à des fins autres que la vente ou la location (pour les œuvres créées après le 7 juin 1988) et la communication publique (par exemple la diffusion à la télévision, dans un film ou encore sur un site Internet).

La SODRAC émet ces licences à des utilisateurs domiciliés au Canada en contrepartie de redevances qu’elle perçoit pour ses membres. Les redevances perçues par la SODRAC sont basées sur son barème de tarifs en fonction des différents paramètres des utilisations des œuvres : format de reproduction, nombre d’exemplaires, prix de vente, durée de l’utilisation, etc. Lorsque les demandes d’utilisation proviennent de l’extérieur du Canada, elles sont traitées par l’une ou l’autre des 35 sociétés sœurs avec qui la SODRAC a des ententes de représentation réciproque. Si la demande provient d’un pays qui n’est pas couvert par une de nos ententes, la SODRAC traite la demande directement.

Les redevances de reprographie

Il existe aussi un deuxième type de rémunération pour la reproduction de vos œuvres en format imprimé dans des livres, des catalogues, des magazines et des journaux. En effet, en plus des redevances que la SODRAC perçoit lorsqu’elle émet une licence, vous pouvez être admissible à des redevances de reprographie pour la photocopie subséquente de vos œuvres (peintures, sculptures, illustrations, photographies, etc.) reproduites dans des publications imprimées.

Au Québec, c’est la société COPIBEC qui gère la photocopie de ces publications auprès des différents usagers, par exemple des institutions d’enseignement. Les membres de la SODRAC qui résident au Canada, hors Québec, peuvent quant à eux bénéficier de redevances de reprographie de la société Access Copyright qui gère la photocopie des publications dans les autres provinces.

Lorsque ces sociétés préparent un paiement de redevances, la SODRAC leur transmet la liste des publications admissibles de ses membres et perçoit ensuite, en vue de leur répartir, les redevances auxquelles ils ont droit.

Les versements trimestriels des redevances

La SODRAC répartit les redevances qu’elle perçoit pour les utilisations des œuvres de ses membres à tous les trimestres. Ces répartitions de redevances ont lieu les 15 mars, 15 juin, 15 septembre et 15 décembre de chaque année et les membres reçoivent un versement, par chèque ou par dépôt direct, lorsqu’ils ont accumulé des redevances d’au moins 50 $ durant le trimestre précédant l’envoi des paiements.

Pour toute question au sujet de vos redevances, veuillez communiquez avec le service des arts visuels et métiers d’art à arts@sodrac.ca ou au 514 845-3268, poste 248.

  
© 2012 SODRAC. Tous droits réservés. / Conditions d'utilisation