Members Space
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Users > Artworks > Use of artworks
JAVASCRIPT IS NOT ACTIVE ! For more information click here.
Artworks
Skip Navigation Links
How to obtain a licence
Membership directory
Use of artworks
FAQ
Shortcuts
Skip Navigation Links
Membership directory - Musical works
Repertoire of musical works
Membership directory - Artworks
Downloadable documents


Under Canada’s Copyright Act, creators of original visual artworks (paintings, sculptures, engravings, screen prints, drawings, crafts, photography, illustrations, etc.) usually have the exclusive right to authorize or prohibit certain ways in which their works may be used, even if they are no longer in physical possession thereof.

SODRAC: a one-stop solution for rights clearance

Would you like to copy or exhibit a work in our repertoire? Please remember that you are required to obtain SODRAC’s authorization before using any such works. Since our members have assigned their copyright and exhibition rights to SODRAC, they cannot directly authorize use of their works or issue licences.

As the cornerstone of collective rights management, assigning rights greatly facilitates rights clearance for users, who benefit from a one-stop solution.

The following are examples of how works created by SODRAC members may be used:

Some ways in which visual artworks may be used include:

  • Reproduction in any material form, including in media such as books, catalogues, posters, postcards, CD liners, clothing, jewellery, etc., as well as in audiovisual productions (TV shows, films, videos, documentaries, etc.) or digital productions (multimedia productions, websites, etc.).
  • Communication to the public via telecommunications technology (TV broadcasting, Internet).
  • In certain cases, public exhibition for purposes other than for rent or sale.

Period of copyright protection

In Canada, such rights are usually granted for a period equal to the lifetime of the creator, plus 50 years. In the U.S. and the European Union countries, basic protection is granted for 70 years. After that time, artworks enter the public domain and may be used without prior authorization.

Outside Canada, you are bound by the laws of each country in which you use that work, even if the author is Canadian. Therefore, if the publication is distributed abroad, you must apply the 70-year term of protection.

  
© 2012 SODRAC. Copyright. / Conditions of use

Espace membres
Skip Navigation LinksAccueil > Utilisateurs > Œuvres artistiques > Utilisation des oeuvres
VOTRE JAVASCRIPT N'EST PAS ACTIVÉ ! Pour en savoir d'avantage cliquez ici.
Œuvres artistiques
Skip Navigation Links
Comment obtenir une licence
Répertoire des membres
Utilisation des oeuvres
FAQ
raccourcis
Skip Navigation Links
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres artistiques
Documents à télécharger


En vertu de la loi canadienne sur le droit d'auteur, l'auteur d'une oeuvre artistique originale (peinture, sculpture, gravure, sérigraphie, dessin, oeuvre artisanale, photographie, illustration,...) a, en règle générale, le droit exclusif d'autoriser ou d'interdire certaines des utilisations qui peuvent être faites de ses oeuvres et ce, même s'il n'a plus la propriété matérielle de celles-ci.

La SODRAC : un guichet unique pour la libération des droits

Vous souhaitez reproduire ou exposer l’une des œuvres de notre répertoire? N’oubliez pas que vous devez obligatoirement en demander l’autorisation à la SODRAC avant toute utilisation. En effet, puisqu’ils ont cédé la gestion de leurs droits de reproduction et d’exposition à notre société, nos membres ne peuvent pas autoriser directement l’utilisation de leurs œuvres et émettre de licences.

Fondement de la gestion collective, cette marche à suivre facilite grandement la libération des droits pour les utilisateurs, qui s’adressent ainsi à un guichet unique.

Voici quelques exemples d’utilisation des œuvres créées par nos membres :

  • la reproduction sous une forme matérielle quelconque, dont notamment sur tous supports tels livres, catalogues, affiches, cartes postales, pochettes de disques, vêtements, bijoux, etc., ainsi que dans les productions audiovisuelles (émission de télé, film, vidéo, documentaire,...) ou numériques (production multimédia, site Internet,...);
  • la communication au public par télécommunication (télédiffusion, Internet)
  • et, dans certains cas, l'exposition publique à des fins autres que la location ou la vente.

Durée du droit d’auteur

Au Canada, ces droits subsistent généralement pour une période équivalant à la vie de l'auteur plus 50 ans après son décès. Aux États-Unis et dans les pays de l'Union européenne la protection de base est de 70 ans. Au terme de cette période, les oeuvres deviennent du domaine public et peuvent être utilisées sans autorisation préalable.

À l'extérieur du pays, vous devez vous conformer aux lois des états où vous utilisez l'œuvre, même si l'auteur est canadien. Donc, si la publication est distribuée à l’étranger, vous devez respecter la durée de protection de 70 ans.

  
© 2012 SODRAC. Tous droits réservés. / Conditions d'utilisation