Members Space
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Authors, Composers And Publishers > Music > Administrative Simplification Program
JAVASCRIPT IS NOT ACTIVE ! For more information click here.
Music
Skip Navigation Links
Membership benefits
How to join
Your royalties
New Changes
Administrative Simplification Program
Private copying
Pending lists
Protecting your works
Before you sign a contract
Declaring your works
Repertoire of works
Membership directory
FAQ
Shortcuts
Skip Navigation Links
Membership directory - Musical works
Repertoire of musical works
Membership directory - Artworks
Downloadable documents


At the Extraordinary General Meeting held on March 26, 2009, 95% of SODRAC’s members in attendance or represented by proxies voted in favour of the amendments to the Articles and Bylaws (now named “By-Laws”) proposed by the Board of Directors following the submission of the report by the co-chairs of the committee charged with reviewing rights management. The members also welcomed the simplification of various administrative procedures.

As a result of these changes, SODRAC will offer greater flexibility to its members who so desire, while maintaining the principle of full assignment of rights, which forms the basis of our efforts and our collective strength.

Greater flexibility for SODRAC members

Below you will find a summary of the changes to our musical rights management procedures, which members may take advantage of effective April 1, 2009 if they so desire. If you have any questions, please contact Chantal Beaudoin, Manager, Members Services, at (514) 845-3268, ext. 232 or at cbeaudoin@sodrac.ca.

Self-production
Direct licensing
1st integration (synchronization rights)
Commissioned works
Educational and promotional projects

Self-production

Songwriters and/or composers who meet the following definition have a new option available to them. They will no longer be required to have SODRAC process payment of their share of the royalties and will no longer be required to pay the applicable commissions if:

  • They own their master recordings (because they are producers or have acquired the proprietary rights from a producer) and they control the use and marketing of their works in their personal capacity as a record company or majority shareholder of a related company.

Direct licensing

In either of the following cases, publishers have a new option available to them. They will no longer be required to have SODRAC process payment of their share of the royalties and will no longer be required to pay the applicable commissions, subject to certain conditions, if:

  • They utilize and market their works in their capacity as a record company (i.e. if they own or are the majority shareholder thereof).
  • Their company is the subsidiary of a record company.

1st integration (synchronization rights)

The following three options are now available. They reflect the fact that the vast majority of our members want SODRAC to continue managing their synchronization rights.

Option 1 - Full management of synchronization rights by SODRAC, including the following new benefits:

  • Payments received from users will be distributed to SODRAC members twice a month for all royalty amounts totalling at least $250. If the royalty amount is less than $250, it will be paid during the following distribution period.
  • You can authorize SODRAC to simultaneously issue the master recording license in its capacity as agent, on a customized basis. SODRAC thus facilitates matters for you by becoming a “one-stop shop” as regards concluding transactions with users of your works.

Option 2 - New change: you may negotiate your own rights directly with users of your works subject to the conditions that you determine with them.*

SODRAC will subsequently be responsible for issuing the license in accordance with your conditions and, thanks to the reserve clause included in the contract, for ensuring the collection of your royalties on all other platforms for the life of the product. The applicable commission will be reduced. In addition, you can take advantage of the benefits described in Option 1 as regards the twice-monthly payment of royalty amounts in excess of $250 and the possibility of authorizing SODRAC to manage your master recordings on a customized basis.

* Being understood, however, that this option 2 does not apply when a tariff or a general licence exist.

Option 3 – You may take advantage of an expanded restriction (partial or total) of your contribution.

Individuals whose membership criteria currently include a restriction will receive a letter to this effect. Members (or potential members) who have not yet signed a restriction for their synchronization rights and who wish to take advantage of this benefit should notify SODRAC and submit the appropriate form. In all cases, the deadline for taking advantage of the new restriction is September 30, 2009; thereafter, the deadline will be the membership renewal date. For the restriction to be valid, the following conditions will apply: 1) Once the contract or license has been finalized, a copy thereof must be submitted to SODRAC and, in the case of publishers, to the songwriters and composers as well; 2) An appropriate reserve clause must be included covering any reproduction rights that are subsequently fully assigned to SODRAC.

The restriction will cover the integration of preexisting musical works to the following types of productions (except for synchronization rights covered by tariffs or general licenses):

  • Independently produced TV programs (cinematographic works)
  • Digital audiovisual productions (cinematographic works)
  • Audiovisual productions (cinematographic works)
  • Advertisements

Please note that if you select Option 3, SODRAC can also manage your master recordings on a customized basis.

Commissioned works

All rights for commissioned works may be assigned for all jurisdictions. The foregoing does not apply to rights covered by general licenses and established tariffs or to royalties collected by SODRAC’s affiliates, provided that a reserve clause is included in the contract binding the rights holder and the producer.

Educational and promotional projects

Complimentary licenses may be granted for certain projects. Administrative fees will apply.

  
© 2012 SODRAC. Copyright. / Conditions of use

Espace membres
Skip Navigation LinksAccueil > Auteurs, compositeurs ou éditeurs > Musique > Gestion à la carte
VOTRE JAVASCRIPT N'EST PAS ACTIVÉ ! Pour en savoir d'avantage cliquez ici.
Musique
Skip Navigation Links
Pourquoi devenir membre?
Comment adhérer
Vos redevances
Nouveautés
Gestion à la carte
Copie privée
Listes de droits en suspens
Protéger vos oeuvres
Avant de signer tout contrat
Déclarer vos oeuvres
Répertoire des oeuvres
Répertoire des membres
FAQ
raccourcis
Skip Navigation Links
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres artistiques
Documents à télécharger


Lors de l’Assemblée générale extraordinaire tenue le 26 mars 2009, 95 % de nos membres présents et représentés via une procuration ont voté en faveur des modifications aux Statuts et règlements (maintenant désignés le «Règlement général») proposées par le Conseil d’administration suite au dépôt du rapport des coprésidents du Comité d’étude sur la gestion à la carte. Ils ont aussi accueilli favorablement les assouplissements administratifs proposés.

Grâce à ces changements, la SODRAC est en mesure d’offrir une plus grande flexibilité à ses membres qui la souhaitent, tout en maintenant le principe de la cession totale des droits, qui est à la base de son action et de sa force collective.

Plus grande flexibilité offerte à nos membres

Voici un résumé des modifications apportées à la gestion des droits en musique, dont nos membres qui le désirent peuvent se prévaloir à compter du 1er avril 2009. Pour toute question, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Chantal Beaudoin, chef du service aux membres, au 514 845-3268, poste 232 ou à cbeaudoin@sodrac.ca.

Autoproduction
Licence directe
Droit de 1ère intégration (synchronisation)
Oeuvres de commande
Projets éducatifs et promotionnels

Autoproduction

L’auteur et/ou compositeur qui correspond à la définition suivante a un nouveau choix : ne plus faire transiter les paiements de ses propres quotes-parts par la SODRAC et ne plus payer les commissions qui s’y rattachent, et ce à certaines conditions :

  • s’il détient la propriété de sa bande maîtresse (parce qu’il la produit ou qu’il en a acquis les droits de propriété d’un producteur) et qu’il contrôle l'exploitation et la mise en marché de ses œuvres en tant que maison de disques personnellement ou à titre d'actionnaire majoritaire d'entreprise .

Licence directe

Dans les deux cas suivants, l’éditeur a un nouveau choix : ne plus faire transiter les paiements de ses propres quotes-parts par la SODRAC et ne plus payer les commissions qui s’y rattachent, et ce à certaines conditions :

  • s’il exploite ses œuvres et les met en marché en tant que maison de disques (s’il en est propriétaire ou actionnaire majoritaire); ou
  • si son entreprise est une filiale d’une maison de disques.

Droit de 1ère intégration (synchronisation)

Option 1 - Gestion complète du droit de synchronisation par la SODRAC, incluant les deux nouveaux avantages suivants :

  • les paiements reçus des utilisateurs vous sont versés deux fois par mois pour toute redevance de 250 $ et plus. Si la redevance est moindre, elle vous est versée lors de la prochaine période de répartition;
  • vous pouvez mandater la SODRAC afin qu’elle émette simultanément la licence pour la bande maîtresse à titre d’agent, à la pièce. La SODRAC vous simplifie ainsi la vie en devenant un guichet unique pour conclure votre transaction avec l’utilisateur.

Option 2 - Nouveau : possibilité de négocier vous-même vos droits directement avec les utilisateurs aux conditions que vous aurez déterminées avec eux*.

Il revient ensuite à la SODRAC d’émettre la licence selon vos conditions et, grâce à la clause de réserve incluse au contrat, de s’assurer de la perception continue de vos droits sur toutes les autres plateformes pendant la durée de vie du produit. La commission applicable est réduite. De plus vous pouvez aussi bénéficier des deux avantages indiqués à l’option 1 au sujet du versement deux fois par mois de toute redevance de 250 $ et plus et de la possibilité de mandater la SODRAC pour gérer votre bande maîtresse à la pièce.

* Étant entendu, cependant, que cette option 2 ne peut s’appliquer lorsqu’un tarif ou une entente générale existent.

Option 3 – Possibilité de vous prévaloir d’une limitation d’apport élargie pouvant être partielle ou totale.

Les membres dont l’adhésion inclut actuellement une limitation recevront une lettre à cet effet. Les membres (ou les membres potentiels) n’ayant pas signé de limitation pour ce droit jusqu’à maintenant et qui souhaitent s’en prévaloir doivent nous en aviser et signer le formulaire correspondant. Dans tous les cas, la date limite pour bénéficier de la nouvelle limitation est fixée au 30 septembre 2009 et, par la suite, à la date de renouvellement de l’adhésion. Les conditions suivantes s’appliquent pour que la limitation soit valide : 1) dès sa conclusion, transmettre copie du contrat ou licence à la SODRAC et, dans le cas d’un éditeur, ainsi qu’aux auteurs et compositeurs; 2) ajouter une clause de réserve suffisante quant à tout droit de reproduction subséquente entièrement réservé à la SODRAC.

La limitation couvre dorénavant l'intégration d'oeuvres musicales préexistantes aux productions suivantes, à l’exception de toute synchronisation régie par des licences générales ou des tarifs :

  • production télévisuelle indépendante (œuvre cinématographique)
  • production audiovisuelle numérique (œuvre cinématographique)
  • production audiovisuelle (œuvre cinématographique)
  • message publicitaire

Notez que si vous choisissez l’option 3, la SODRAC peut également gérer vos bandes maîtresses à la pièce

Oeuvres de commande

Tous les droits peuvent en être cédés pour tous les territoires à l’exclusion des droits visés par des licences générales et des tarifs établis et des droits perçus par nos sociétés-soeurs, sous condition qu’une clause de réserve soit inscrite au contrat qui lie l’ayant droit au producteur.

Projets éducatifs et promotionnels

Des licences peuvent être accordées à titre gracieux pour certains projets. Des frais d’administration s’appliquent.

  
© 2012 SODRAC. Tous droits réservés. / Conditions d'utilisation