Members Space
Skip Navigation LinksHome > About SODRAC > Copyright
JAVASCRIPT IS NOT ACTIVE ! For more information click here.
About SODRAC
Skip Navigation Links
Mission
International mandate
Administrative structure
Historical overview
Copyright
Shortcuts
Skip Navigation Links
Membership directory - Musical works
Repertoire of musical works
Membership directory - Artworks
Downloadable documents


Managing copyright may initially seem complex. In fact, the creation of SODRAC and other organizations responsible for managing reproduction or public performance rights for musical and artistic works in Canada stems from the Copyright Act.

Management organizations have been created over the years to represent creators, publishers, producers, artists and performers by issuing licenses authorizing the use of their works and to collect on their behalf the royalties to which they are legally entitled.

Moral rights

The Copyright Act enables authors/composers to receive recognition as the creators of their works, whether under their real name, a pseudonym or, if they prefer, anonymously. Authors/composers may also take steps to protect their integrity or reputation by preventing their works from: 1) being associated with particular causes, products, services or institutions or 2) by insisting that their songs not be modified or distorted. These are known as the author’s “moral rights”.

As the primary owners, creators of musical or other works may transfer the economic use of these works to third parties (e.g., to another individual or company). However, creators may not transfer their moral rights, although they may choose not to exercise them.

Legal remedies

It should be noted that the Copyright Act sets out various legal remedies, including severe penalties for anyone who violates authors’ or composers’ legal rights. If you have any doubts concerning the legality of reproducing a work or concerning the related requirements, please contact us.

The website of the Copyright Board of Canada is a very useful source of copyright information. It includes the full text of the Copyright Act, together with a list of Canadian copyright management organizations, proposed and approved tariffs and Board decisions.

  
© 2012 SODRAC. Copyright. / Conditions of use

Espace membres
Skip Navigation LinksAccueil > À propos de la SODRAC > Le droit d’auteur
VOTRE JAVASCRIPT N'EST PAS ACTIVÉ ! Pour en savoir d'avantage cliquez ici.
À propos de la SODRAC
Skip Navigation Links
Mission
Mandat international
Structure administrative
Historique
Le droit d’auteur
raccourcis
Skip Navigation Links
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres artistiques
Documents à télécharger


La gestion du droit d’auteur peut paraître complexe à première vue. En fait, la création de la SODRAC et des autres sociétés qui gèrent la reproduction et/ou l’exécution publique des œuvres musicales et artistiques au Canada découle de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

Ainsi des sociétés de gestion ont été créées au fil des ans pour représenter les créateurs, les éditeurs, les producteurs et les artistes-interprètes, pour émettre des licences autorisant l’utilisation de leurs oeuvres et pour percevoir en leur nom les redevances auxquelles ils ont droit en vertu de la loi.

Droits moraux
La Loi sur le droit d'auteur permet à l'auteur d'exiger qu'on le reconnaisse en tant que créateur de son œuvre, sous son nom, sous un pseudonyme, ou encore, s'il le préfère, en respectant son droit à l'anonymat. Il peut aussi exiger qu'on n'entache pas son honneur et sa réputation en refusant 1) d’associer son œuvre à une cause, à un produit, à un service ou à une institution et 2) d’utiliser son oeuvre sans modification ou déformation. Ces droits rattachés à la personne de l'auteur sont appelés ses « droits moraux ».

Le créateur d'une œuvre en est le premier propriétaire. Il peut cependant en transférer l’exploitation économique à une autre personne ou à une société, en totalité ou en partie. Il ne peut cependant pas transférer ses droits moraux à quelqu'un, bien qu’il puisse renoncer à les exercer.

Recours en justice
Il faut savoir que la Loi sur le droit d'auteur prévoit des recours en justice comportant des peines sévères pour quiconque ne respecte pas les droits conférés aux auteurs par la loi. En cas de doute sur la façon de s'assurer de la légalité de la reproduction d'une œuvre, il vaut mieux nous contacter.

Le site Internet de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada est une source d’informations très utile au sujet du droit d’auteur. Vous y trouverez notamment le texte de la loi, la liste des sociétés de gestion canadiennes, les tarifs homologués et proposés ainsi que les décisions rendues par la Commission.

  
© 2012 SODRAC. Tous droits réservés. / Conditions d'utilisation