Members Space
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Authors, Composers And Publishers > Music > Before you sign a contract
JAVASCRIPT IS NOT ACTIVE ! For more information click here.
Music
Skip Navigation Links
Membership benefits
How to join
Your royalties
New Changes
Administrative Simplification Program
Private copying
Pending lists
Protecting your works
Before you sign a contract
Declaring your works
Repertoire of works
Membership directory
FAQ
Shortcuts
Skip Navigation Links
Membership directory - Musical works
Repertoire of musical works
Membership directory - Artworks
Downloadable documents


Whenever a musical work is completed, the creator should ensure that it is protected against plagiarism and report the work to SODRAC so that all royalties to which the creator is entitled may be collected. It is also crucial that the creator’s copyright be clearly set out in any reproduction-related contract prior to signing.

If you are a songwriter and/or composer who is a SODRAC member, it is thus essential that a reserve clause be included in any contract you enter into with a third party (e.g. a producer or publisher) in order to protect your copyright. This clause informs the other party to the contract that you are a SODRAC member and that you have already transferred your copyright to SODRAC so that it may manage your copyright on your behalf.

If you are a songwriter and/or composer who is not yet a SODRAC member, but you intend to apply for membership, we advise you to include such a clause in any future contracts so that SODRAC may represent your interests as of your membership date.

In so doing, you will ensure that your contract is free of ambiguities that could have a detrimental effect. In addition, you will ensure that SODRAC has the latitude it needs to collect royalties on your behalf in accordance with the membership agreement you signed.

Procedure

Simply forward the reserve clause (see below) to your co-signer and request that it be included in the contract without modification, explaining that the clause was drafted with a view to being used on an “as is” basis, i.e., without having to amend the contract. However, if the clause is subsequently modified, you are advised to contact our Member Services Department to determine what effect, if any, this change may have on your rights.

By taking this simple step, you will ensure that SODRAC can better represent your interests with the users of your audio/audiovisual works.

For further information, please email our Member Services Department or call (514) 845-3268, ext. 240.

Reserve clause to be included in your contract

Please ask your co-signer to include the following text in its entirety in any contract, replacing the text in blue with the names of the parties concerned.

«Notwithstanding any provisions to the contrary, any rights herein assigned or licensed to (name of third party) shall be subject to the agreements that have already been entered into by (your name) or that may subsequently be entered into with collective societies administering performance or reproduction rights (including SOCAN, SODRAC or any sister societies worldwide). Consequently, under no circumstances shall (name of third party) modify or decrease (your name)’s share of the royalties collected by said collective societies. In addition, (name of third party) shall communicate the substance of this provision to all subsequent users.»
  
© 2012 SODRAC. Copyright. / Conditions of use

Espace membres
Skip Navigation LinksAccueil > Auteurs, compositeurs ou éditeurs > Musique > Avant de signer tout contrat
VOTRE JAVASCRIPT N'EST PAS ACTIVÉ ! Pour en savoir d'avantage cliquez ici.
Musique
Skip Navigation Links
Pourquoi devenir membre?
Comment adhérer
Vos redevances
Nouveautés
Gestion à la carte
Copie privée
Listes de droits en suspens
Protéger vos oeuvres
Avant de signer tout contrat
Déclarer vos oeuvres
Répertoire des oeuvres
Répertoire des membres
FAQ
raccourcis
Skip Navigation Links
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des oeuvres musicales
Répertoire des membres - oeuvres artistiques
Documents à télécharger


Lorsqu’une œuvre musicale est complétée, son créateur doit en assurer la protection contre le plagiat et la déclarer à la SODRAC afin qu’elle soit en mesure de percevoir toutes les redevances auxquelles il a droit. Autre élément crucial, le droit d’auteur qui appartient au créateur doit également être clairement établi lors de la signature de tout contrat en visant la reproduction.

Si vous êtes un auteur et/ou compositeur membre de la SODRAC, il est donc primordial de faire ajouter une clause de réserve à tout contrat signé avec un tiers (par ex. : un producteur ou un éditeur) afin de protéger votre droit de reproduction. Cette clause informe votre cosignataire que vous êtes membre de la SODRAC, à qui vous avez déjà cédé votre droit de reproduction afin qu’elle le gère en votre nom

Si vous êtes un auteur et/ou compositeur non membre de la SODRAC, mais que vous comptez le devenir, nous vous invitons à inclure également cette clause à tout prochain contrat afin que notre société puisse agir en votre nom à partir de la date de votre admission.

En agissant ainsi, vous éviterez toute ambiguïté et tout préjudice pouvant découler d’une imprécision au contrat. De plus, vous ferez en sorte que notre société ait toute la latitude requise pour percevoir des redevances en votre nom, en conformité avec le contrat d’adhésion que vous avez signé avec elle.

Comment procéder

Il vous suffit de faire parvenir la clause de réserve ci-dessous à votre cosignataire en lui indiquant qu’il doit l’insérer sans modification au contrat et en lui précisant que cette clause a été rédigée dans l’optique d’être utilisée telle quelle, sans avoir à apporter de modifications au contrat. Si cette clause était néanmoins modifiée, nous vous invitons alors à communiquer avec notre service aux membres pour en valider l’impact sur votre droit.

En posant ce geste simple, vous permettez à la SODRAC de mieux vous représenter auprès des utilisateurs de vos œuvres audio et audiovisuelles.

Pour toute information additionnelle, n’hésitez pas à envoyer un courriel à notre Service aux membres ou à téléphoner au 514 845-3268, poste 240.

Clause de réserve à insérer au contrat

Veuillez demander que le texte suivant soit inséré intégralement à tout contrat en remplaçant le texte en bleu par les noms des parties concernées.

« Nonobstant toute mention à l’effet contraire, tout droit cédé ou concédé à (Nom du cosignataire) en vertu des présentes est assujetti aux conventions déjà conclues par (Votre nom ou appellation) ou qui pourraient l’être avec les sociétés de gestion collective du droit d’exécution publique ou de reproduction (incluant la SOCAN, la SODRAC et leurs sociétés affiliées à travers le monde). Par conséquent, (Nom du cosignataire) ne peut, en aucun cas, modifier ou diminuer le droit de (Votre nom ou appellation) à sa part du montant perçu par ladite société de gestion. Également, (Nom du cosignataire) doit rappeler à tout utilisateur subséquent ledit assujettissement. »
  
© 2012 SODRAC. Tous droits réservés. / Conditions d'utilisation